# 109: Impassioned in Istanbul

“We were together. I forget the rest.” – Walt Whitman

**I’m jumping back in time to the proper chronology of my trip to Turkey. If you’ve read my first post about my Turkey experience you’ll know that I had spent a full day in Turkey wandering around with a stranger-turned-guide-turned friend named Ishmael. If you read my previous post you’ll know that I was totally oblivious to my impending engagement that would happen at the end of the week in Cappadocia.

I hadn’t seen P since late August of 2013 (for those counting, that makes 6.2 months apart – the longest stretch we’ve had, even as a perpetually long-distance couple). You could probably imagine that I was quite excited to see my partner after such a long interlude in our relationship.

Retrouvaille

I jolted awake at the sound of my telephone. I remembered that Ibrahim, our guide, had scheduled wake up calls for each of us, but I was confused and disoriented when P’s voice came through on the other end.

“Hello?” I said groggily. My lengthy sleep the previous night left me feeling slightly hung-over.

“Hi! I’m here,” my love replied. This was much better than my pre-arranged wakeup call.

It took me a minute or two to realize what was happening. I couldn’t have brushed my teeth and gotten dressed fast enough that morning. I sped down to the lobby and practically tackled P to the ground. Finally, the other half of my soul was here. After six months without him, he was here. There is nothing quite like the feeling you get when you lay eyes on the person you love most in the world after a long time apart.

We headed up to breakfast and dined on a traditional Turkish-style breakfast (olives, cheese, hard-boiled eggs, thick slices of bread with butter and jam, cucumbers, and tomatoes) in a solarium atop our hotel with views of the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque.

We spent the rest of our day walking through different parts of Istanbul, learning about its history and architecture. Together.

Until Next Time,

W

One thought on “# 109: Impassioned in Istanbul

Leave a Reply

