Happy New Year! 2014: A Year of Resolutions

Greetings readers! I hope that you had a fantastic winter holiday. Merry Christmas to those of you who celebrated and Happy New Year! I’m welcoming 2014 with a smile. I think that 2013 was  the best year for my Bucket List (so far!) and this brings me great joy & delight. I was fortunate enough to cross off 6 major items on my list, and I consider that to be a huge accomplishment. I wish that in 2014 you are able to cross of the most important items on your own Bucket Lists! I also hope that you add many items to them!

I sometimes make New Years Resolutions – and because I am as stubborn as a horse, generally speaking, I stick to them! My last New Years Resolution was to become a vegetarian and be more health conscious as well as more eco-friendly. That was 6 years ago, and I’m still wholeheartedly committed to that goal. Since that time I have continued with a healthy diet both for myself and for the planet (where possible) and I have taken up different types of fitness including running, yoga, and the occasional bit of Pilates. Living in Kuwait has really put a damper on my healthy-living lifestyle preferences, but I’m doing my best to keep up with my goals. Back home, I volunteered at a local non-profit agency that works to improve access to affordable and healthy food to all in the city. I don’t drive and I try to always take public transportation or walk to places that I need to go. And, this year I am teaching a unit about Going Green to my Kuwaiti kids!

The reason I bring all of this up is because I made some New Years Resolutions for 2014. It’s been a very long time since I’ve made a New Years Resolution. Again, because I’m so stubborn I force myself to follow through with whatever resolutions I come up with and sometimes that dissuades me from making new resolutions at all. I know, I know – my mind is a complex place.

So, my resolutions for 2014 are as follows: (some are mundane, but I’m sharing them anyway!)

  1. Travel Alone (more on “why” later).
  2. Travel to at least one new country this year. (This resolution is approaching fruition – hooray! I want to say 2 or 3 new countries – but again, my resolve scares me. And my bank account is not limitless, you see.)
  3. See more of Kuwait. (Because frankly, I’m over the inside of my apartment – and my classroom.)
  4. Drink more water. (Because after arriving in Kuwait in the scorching summer, I just sort of…stopped. Entire days passed by when my entire consumption of liquid was a large cup of coffee.)
  5. Drink NEW and EXOTIC kinds of coffee. (Because my love for java knows no bounds. Coffee-love is akin to my travel-love, but in liquid form. Savvy?)
  6. Blog more. Write more. Read more. In general – be around words more.
  7. Be more grateful. For everything. Grateful is my ‘word’ for 2014.

Okay so that’s it. And I’m resolute. 2014 has given me 16 fantastic days so far, and I am doing my best to accomplish my resolutions!

  • I’ve already vastly increased my water consumption and am really proud of myself for doing so. It’s such an easy thing to forget.
  • I am hoping to complete my goal of seeing more of Kuwait before I leave for home this summer because really I want to be able to say that it has a lot to offer, culturally. Besides, I have to check of the items on my Kuwait Bucket List before I return home!
  • I spent my time ringing in the New Year in a new country and in 16 days I will be traversing new landscapes yet again – this time with the love of my life, P.
  • Number 5 is really not going to be problematic for me. It’s always one of the first things I try when I visit a new place.
  • It’s number one that worries me. But, more on that at another time…

If you’re comfortable sharing, I would love to hear what your own resolutions are for 2014 and beyond!

Stay tuned for my upcoming posts on my trip to Italy over the Christmas holiday!

Keep Wandering,

W

Leave a Reply

