116. United Arab Emirates: Dubai

My dearest readers,

Not long ago I was sitting around watching Dr. Horrible’s Sing-A-Long Blog with a few friends, and the next thing I knew we were talking about Dubai and booking our tickets. I think part of what I love about travel is the spontaneity of it all. Though it wasn’t necessarily one of the top places that I yearned to see while living in the Middle East, I rarely pass up a chance to see a new place.

You can prepare for travel all that you want by making lists and plans, but sometimes life is aleatory and these wonderful opportunities find their way to us. It is up to us whether or not we seize them.

***

Upon arrival I hit the duty free and purchased a nice Riesling to bring back to my hotel. I’m not one for imbibing alcohol on the regular, in fact I do not mind living in a dry country at all, but as a resident oenophile I do miss having the occasional glass of wine. I nearly purchased a $91 bottle of ice wine from Inniskillin (a winery nearby my home in Canada). With my wine craving thoroughly sated, I went to bed ready for tomorrow’s adventure.

The attractions in Dubai are relatively spread out amongst the city and therefore make traveling by foot pretty difficult. After consulting with some travel aficionados and Dubai natives,  I decided to purchase a 24-hour Hop-on Hop-Off ticket with Dubai Big Bus. I personally enjoyed this tour and would recommend it to fellow travelers who enjoy hearing commentary about the city, architecture, people, culture but who also enjoy seeing a lot of cultural and historical sights (of which there are not too many in Dubai). The bus itself is a double-decker with an exposed roof for optimal viewing. There are two lines – the Red and the Blue – and between the two lines, the major tourist sights are covered.

Here are some of my photographs from the bus tour:

IMG_2010

At the Dubai museum!

IMG_2020

At the late Sheik Saeed Al Maktoum’s House

IMG_2019

More from inside the Sheik’s house!

IMG_2018

Inside Sheik Al Maktoum’s House

IMG_1973

Exterior of the Dubai Museum

IMG_1941

Received a free Dhow cruise on the Dubai Creek with my Hop-On Hop-Off ticket!

IMG_1935

Nothing feels quite like home like a Tim Horton’s!

IMG_1919

Dubai recently celebrated 42 years of independence!

IMG_1908

The building in the centre of this photograph will take the record for the tallest building in the world to feature a 90 degree twist upon completion!

IMG_1907

The Atlantis, of course.

IMG_1883

The 7-star Burj Al-Arab and the surrounding beach.

IMG_1867

Dubai World Trade Centre

IMG_1860

Some of the architecture at the Wafi Shopping Complex

IMG_1857

Wafi Shopping Complex

IMG_1856

More at Wafi

IMG_1838

Heading in to downtown Dubai from Deira, where I was staying.

 

Stay tuned for my next blog post in which I head to the top of the Burj Khalifa! In the mean time,

Keep Wandering,

W

Leave a Reply

