Sympathy Pains

Bidmas’s most recent post struck a chord in me. Teaching abroad is a major challenge. She doesn’t hold back. I find her honesty refreshing.

The Order of Operations

I was sitting in my classroom during a prep period today when the colleague who teaches next door appeared in the hallway. She walked out quickly, somehow simultaneously looking determined and lost.

My door was closed, but through it I could see her lean against the frame and look down.

Not wanting to be a part of what was clearly a private moment, I looked away, back to my computer screen where I was painstakingly putting together fractions on a Smart file.

I heard the door open and she stepped inside. She looked to the ceiling and I saw her eyes well up.

“Can I just step in here for a moment?” she asked, her voice cracking.

“Of course” I replied.

I looked back to my screen, let her have a moment to centre herself.

“Do you want to talk about it?” I asked.

Her lip quavered and for a…

View original post 807 more words

Leave a Reply

